Template functions that return HTMLElement?

Is there any way to have a template for an item (like a list item) that is defined as a function that returns an HTMLElement or array of HTMLElement?

I would like to be able to create the template for an item using document.createElement() rather than using a string template. This would allow us to template items using other HTML fragment rendering technologies like lit-html, JSX, etc.

It would also allow us to connect event handlers, use properties that are function callbacks, etc.

I am new to the Webix, so I may be missing the obvious here.

Thanks,
Neal

Hello,

Please check Data Templates - Data templates documentation page. Webix Docs

Hi Nastja,

Yes, I have already reviewed this page. For external templates, you can use the template element and use an id to retrieve. However, the template function approach ultimately returns a string. This means that we cannot hook up event handlers, etc. If we want to encapsulate a Webix widget into a React component for example, we may want to be able to have a function that builds JSX and then renders it. There are a lot of other ways to build document fragments and we may also want to use something like lit-html and template stamping for example.

From the documentation:

Templates can be defined in five very flexible ways:

• as HTML strings within JavaScript objects
  • by creating named templates
  • by extracting them from an HTML container
  • by retrieving them from an external file
  • as a function returning a string

I am asking about support for a function that returns HTMLElement or an HTMLElement array. These would then be added to the host element using appendChild.

As an alternative, the function call could also pass in the host element and we could append the children directly. I guess the function could then return undefined or null to indicate that he have handled the rendering inside the function.